Governor's Educator of the Year Program 2019-2020

Governor's Educator of the Year Program 2019-2020
Posted on 12/02/2019

The New Jersey Department of Education has announced the Governor's Award for Outstanding Educator of the Year for the 2019-2020 school year. This celebratory program continues to recognize our state’s best teachers and educational services professionals.

Do you know a classroom teacher or educational services professional who is dedicated, inspiring, and making a difference in the lives of students? If so, please take the time to recommend this person by completing the attached nomination form and returning it to your building principal on or before Friday, December 13, 2019. You may drop off your nomination form in the main office or email it directly to the building principal. Administrators, staff members, parents, and community members are encouraged to participate. Please note that you may nominate both a classroom teacher AND an educational services professional.

Any educators nominated for this award must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Be an exceptionally skilled and dedicated licensed classroom teacher (pre-K through grade 12 in a public or charter school) where teaching is the primary responsibility rather than administrative or supervisory responsibilities or educational services professional (see below for list of eligible certification areas)

  • Must have achieved a 2018-2019 summative rating of at least Effective

  • Be a dedicated and skilled leader who anticipates actively continuing in his/her teaching career for at least five (5) more years

  • Be an expert in the field who inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn

  • Actively collaborates with colleagues, students, and families to create a strong culture of respect and success

  • Demonstrates leadership and innovation in educational activities at the school, district, and/or state and national level that take place both within or outside the school setting

  • Has the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues

  • Demonstrates poise, eloquence, and the ability to maintain a demanding schedule

  • Has not earned the title of school-level Teacher of the Year or Educational Services Professional of the Year for the past five (5) years

Eligible Enrollment Areas for Educational Services Professionals and Others as Listed

In order to compete for the Governor’s Educational Services Professional of the Year nominees must be classified as:

  • Anti-Bullying Specialist

  • Associate School Library Media Specialist

  • Athletic Trainer

  • Basic Skills Teacher

  • Behavior Specialist

  • Cooperative Education Coordinator

  • Cooperative Education Coordinator / Hazardous Occupations

  • Director of School Counseling Services / Child Study Team

  • Educational Interpreter (Cued Speech Transliteration, Oral Interpreting, Sign Language Interpreting)

  • Guidance/School Counselor

  • Learning Disabilities Teacher-Consultant

  • Mathematics Specialist / Mathematics Coach

  • Library Media Specialist

  • Paraprofessional (Instructional)

  • Reading Specialist / Reading Coach

  • School Nurse (Instructional and Non-Instructional)

  • School Occupational Therapist

  • School Physical Therapist

  • School Psychologist

  • School Social Worker

  • Speech-Language Specialist

  • Student Assistance Coordinator

  • Technology Coach

The nomination form can be found here.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.